Cities and regions

In order to carry out effective governance of the country, there are administrative-territorial division, defining the boundaries of the so-called administrative-territorial units.

Historically, this division has undergone a number of changes.

The administrative division in Bulgaria is twofold – municipalities and districts.

Since 1999, the Republic of Bulgaria is administratively divided into 28 districts: Blagoevgrad, Burgas, Varna, Veliko Tarnovo, Vidin, Vratsa, Gabrovo, Dobrich, Kardzhali, Kyustendil, Lovech, Montana, Pazardzhik, Pernik, Pleven, Plovdiv, Razgrad, Ruse, Silistra, Sliven, Smolyan, District Sofia-city, District Sofia, Stara Zagora, Targovishte, Haskovo, Shoumen, Yambol. All of them are named after their regional center, and the capital itself forms a separate district.

By 2020, Bulgaria has 265 municipalities.

The body of local self-government in the municipality is the municipal council, which is elected by the population of the municipality for a period of 4 years.

The management in the district is carried out by a district governor, assisted by a district administration.

The multi-national project CONNEcting Cities Towards Integration actiON was co-funded by the European Union’s Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund.

This content of this website represents the views of the authors only and is their sole responsibility. The European Commission does not accept any responsibility for use that may be made of the information it contains.